« 2012 Holiday Gift Guide - Coffee Makers/Brewing Devices | Main | Presidential Bites - Obama and Romney Latte Art »

2012 Kona Coffee Cultural Festival ~ Festival Winners

The 42nd Annual Kona Coffee Cultural Festival was held November 3rd-11th with events taking place at the Sheraton Kona Resort, the Old Airport Pavilion and throughout farms and villages along the Kona Coast.  The Kona Coffee Cultural Festival is the oldest and most successful food event in Hawaii, paying tribute to the generations of coffee farmers.

The winners of the 2012 Kona Coffee Cultural Festival are:

Coffee Farms

Kona Coffee Crown Division

  1. Ariana Farms Ono Kona Coffee

Kona Coffee Classic

  1. Kona Rainforest Coffee

Coffee Labels

  1. Pu'u Nani Farms
  2. (Tie) Makahiki Farms and Wakefield & Sons
  3. Kona Rising Coffee Company (Vienna Roast/Rooster)

Sponsors Award (Tie)

  • Piko 2 Piko and Hualalai Harvest

Website Winners

  1. Kuaiwi Farm
  2. Halama Farms 
  3. (Tie) Buddha’s Cup and Konaloha Coffee Company

Sponsors Award

  • Rancho Aloha

Recipe Contest

Professional Entrée

  1. Glenn Bitle, Jr. (Kenichi Pacific): Mac Nut Crusted Mahimahi with Kona Coffee Beurre Rouge
  2. Patti Kimball (Kimball Catering): Kona Coffee Beef Brisket
  3. Angela Kenyon (Four Seasons Hualalai): "Mauka to Makai" Carpaccio Duo

Professional Dessert

  1. Patti Kimball (Kimball Catering): Kona Coffee Cheesecake with Coffee Caramel Sauce
  2. Cathy Barrett (Kailua Candy Company): Hawaii Island Bounty "For the Love of Kona"

Amateur Dessert

  1. Gwen Edwards: Kona Coffee Brigadeiros
  2. Chai Neo: Konalicious Coffee Cranberry Shortbread
  3. Barbara Housel: Kona Coffee Cream Cupcake

College Culinary Student Entrée

  1. Samuel I. Varron (Hawaii Community College-West Hawaii): 100% Kona Coffee Crusted Pork with Kona Coffee Cream Sauce
  2. Kennocha Berhane (HCC-WH): Kona Coffee Rubbed Steak

College Culinary Student Dessert

  1. Samuel I. Varron (HCC-WH): 100% Kona Coffee Baklava
  2. Gary Cyr (HCC-WH): Cheesecake Express(o)
  3. Sherrie Kahiwa (HCC-WH): Kona Coffee Chocolate Macaron with Nutella-Coffee Ganache & Fresh Bananas

High School Culinary Student Entrée

  1. Cameron Linden (Konawaena High School): Kona Café Fajitas

High School Culinary Student Dessert

  1. Shakira Shoble (Konawaena High School): Mocha Cupcake with Dulce de Leche Filling & Coffee Frosting
  2. Narain Gambir (Konawaena High School): Kona Coffee Graham Squares

UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Picking Contest

Senior 60 and above

  1. Joyce Nozaki, Holualoa, HI 
  2. Misako Canby, Irvine CA. 
  3. Ellen Kato, Kealakekua, HI 

Junior Boys and Girls 13-17 years old

  1. Claudia Vazquez
  2. Ale Cisneros
  3. Makayla DeBarge

Keiki 8 to 12 years old 

  1. Dayhtan Barawis
  2. Gene Bushau
  3. Kalani Aquino

Open 18-59 years old 

  1. Eric Nienolez
  2. Guadalupe Nunex
  3. Zyman Barawis

Pee-Wee 5-7 years old

  1. David Vazquez
  2. Dylan Leinomen
  3. Eli Wicklander

Akachan 0-4 years old

  1. Francisco Vazquez
  2. Stephen Marquard
  3. Azure Tatzmann

Amateurs / New Pickers

  1. Catalina Ekesler
  2. Naomi Bishop
  3. Masayuki Honma

Corporate Challenge

  1. Bank of Hawaii Team 1
  2. Bank of Hawaii Team 2

Miss Kona Coffee 2013

  • Guinevere Davenport

Miss Aloha Hawaii 2013

  • Sloanne HewLen 
  • 1st Runner Up Cathryn Orton
  • 2nd Runner Up Mahina Kahoalii

Swimsuit Winner

  • Sloanne Hewle

Talent Winner

  • Cathryn Orton

Photogenic Award

  • (Miss) Rebekah Mersburgh

Congenialty Award

  • (Miss) Mahina Kahoalii

Popularity Award Winner

  • Tiffany Kutsunai 

Miss Kona Coffees Outstanding Teen

  • Keahi Delovio
  • 1st Runner Up Miranda Lugo

Talent Award Winner (Teen)

  • Anela Deaguiar

Photogenic Award (Teen)

  • Kuulei Ichishita

Congeniality Award (Teen)

  • Keahi Delovio

Alaska Airlines, Sheraton Kona and Festival 7 Day Giveaway

Nicki & Jeff MacKenzie - Victoria, BC

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>